The Mayor's Prize

Entries for the 2015 Prize are now closed.

At the end of her year as Mayor in 2007/8, Councillor Kate Morris established a fund dedicated to providing an annual prize for an outstanding contribution to the history of St Albans and Hertfordshire. This initiative, and her contribution to the fund, comprised her valedictory gift as Mayor to the city and corporation in keeping with the theme of her mayoralty.

The fund is administered by this Society and its Council is pleased to be able to encourage researchers in this way. Prize-winners receive a certificate, presented by the Mayor, a sum of money and assistance from the Society with publication of their prize-winning work. The Society’s Council establishes an assessment panel each year, drawing on specialists from the membership and academic institutions. Additional contributions to the endowment fund are most welcome and cheques payable to SAHAAS should be sent to The Treasurer, SAHAAS, 10 Oakwood Drive, St Albans, Herts AL4 0XD


The Mayor's Prize, 2009
Awarded to Rosemary Hearle
The Mayor's Prize, 2010
No prize was awarded in 2010
The Mayor's Prize, 2011
Awarded to Jon Mein
The Mayor's Prize, 2012
Awarded to Anne Wares
The Mayor's Prize, 2014
An invitation to enter
The Mayor's Prize, 2015
No prize was awarded in 2015
The Mayor's Prize, 2016
No prize was awarded in 2016