Spring 2018

Tuesday lectures will be held at Marlborough Road Methodist Church.

 

  • The nearest public car parks are in Bricket Road and The Maltings. The Bricket Road car park is free after 6.30pm.

Friday lectures will be held at St Albans School. 

  • The school car park is sometimes crowded; notice will be given in the programme when possible but the School does not always warn us. The nearest public car park is at Gombards where parking is free after 6.30pm.

The New Year Party will be held at Verulamium Museum.

Late changes of venue will be notified on our web site and via e-news.

Meetings are open to all members of the Society; non-members may attend two meetings as guests.

All meetings normally start at 7:45pm.

DateSpeakerLecture Title
Fri 5 Jan 

New Year Party    7.30 pm

Verulamium Museum

Tue 9 Jan

Nik Pringle

180 Years of Policing in St Albans

Tue 16 Jan

John Morewood

Waterloo General

Fri 26 Jan

Professor James G Clark

The Miracles of St Alban

At St Albans School

Tue 6 Feb

Mark Pardoe

 London Underground
Tue 13 Feb

Helen Fry

 The M Room Trent Park
Fri 23 Feb

Viscountess Grimston

 History & architecture of 18th century Gorhambury

At St Albans School

Tue 6 Mar

Professor James Walvin

 Slavery in Small Things: Slavery & Modern Culture
Tue 13 Mar

Nathen Amin

 The House of Beaufort
Fri 23 Mar

Neil Taylor

 Estonia: 100 Years of Independence

At St Albans School

Tue 10 AprDuncan Barrett Hitler’s British Isles
Tue 17 Apr

Philip Hook

 Rogues Gallery
Fri 27 Apr

John Campbell

 Roy Jenkins: The best PM we never had

At St Albans School

Tue 15 May

Karin Kaye

 Transforming Historical buildings with particular reference to St Albans
Fri 1 Jun Mark Knight

 Must Farm Excavation

At St Albans School

This page was added by Roderick Douglas on 08/08/2017.

If you're already a registered user of this site, please login using the form on the left-hand side of this page.